A Dollar Make Me Holler

What happened to TV while I wasn’t paying attention?

This all started when the person I share a cubicle with at work asked me, “Do you know Bon Qui Qui?” To which I said, “I dunno. Does she work here?” This happens a lot actually. Because I am not watching YouTube, apparently I have no idea what is going on in the world. So, he directs me to this rather amusing video and we all have a nice laugh.

Bon Qui Qui at King Burger
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZkdcYlOn5M

I particularly like the part how the dude at the end states he is no longer under house arrest. I don’t know about you, but that is how I pick my men.

So, later on in the week, this same individual asks if I have seen, Here Comes Honey Boo Boo. “No,” I innocently reply. So… a brief Google search reveals what people are watching on television these days:

Here is the TLC Promo Trailer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11T59SdqguQ

That was only the trailer. If you look a little below this paragraph, you will notice another YouTube link. This will fully explain the whole disturbing thing. DON’T click it yet! Before you proceed, I must warn you that once you watch this on YouTube, you can never un-see it. Never. Remember that time  you were reading heinakroon.com and suddenly people’s torsos were burning up and you were looking at a bunch of legs sitting there? This is EXACTLY like that. Only with a strange little child that can’t enunciate. And no one spontaneously catches on fire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=CGM_ANQsQ74
“A dollar make me holler, BABY.” Really? You are going to train your kid to say that and then send her out on stage with a halter top and a pair of daisy dukes? Also, is a dollar even a respectful price point for hollering? You’d think it would be more than that.

Worst of all, this is on TLC…. The LEARNING Channel! At least, I think TLC still stands for The Learning Channel. What am I supposed to be learning from all of this? Granted, it is almost a reference guide for turning a six-year-old into a stripper, but I don’t think this is anything I need to know. I don’t even have a little girl, much less one that I want to train to be a stripper. I’m sure I could start some sort of outreach program or something, but I really don’t have time for all that. So, let’s just say I DON’T want to start a stripper training outreach program for six-year olds. Thank you anyway, TLC. Maybe next time you can have a show about how to get started with the meth labs, because THAT is something worth looking into.

Image

A shirt for all the self-respecting six-year-olds. I tried to make it into a halter top but the words wouldn’t fit.

About lgalaviz
All of this hardly seems necessary.

17 Responses to A Dollar Make Me Holler

  1. debihen says:

    I watched 15 minutes if Honey Boo Booo the other night. That’s 15 minutes I am never getting back. EVER. So, when Honey Boo Boo is a first class world famous stripper, I expect some sort if monitary compensation for those 15 minutes. OK, I’m finished with my rant, so I’m off to watch OPPA Gangnam Style in YouTube….

  2. Hey! I believe I did in fact put a warning at the beginning of my combustion blog post. Still, thank you for the linkback!

  3. Also, you REALLY need to start putting these t-shirts on Zazzle or something – you’d make a fortune! *

    * You might not make a fortune.

  4. jbrown3079 says:

    I sat through a show called Dance Moms. So I get the general idea of these shows. Let’s find a way to get on tv by using our kids. We will make money and avoid the child labor laws.
    We just watch House Hunters and heckle the ignorant buyers.

    • lgalaviz says:

      I will start a House Hunter Dance Moms show to combine ignorant buyers with people promoting their dancing children… THAT’S how I’ll make my millions!

  5. Gigi says:

    And THAT explains why I rarely watch television these days…..if I want to watch morons in action I can just head to the local Wally-World.

    • lgalaviz says:

      Yes, but you can’t rewind the people at Wally-World. If you don’t catch them drinking beer in the parking lot before they get through their 30 pack of Keystone, you are out of luck.

  6. Blogdramedy says:

    I have yet to click on a link to anything about Kim Kardashian so when Honey Boo Boo entered the tv arena, I made the same decision. Something tells me they are not that dissimilar. :)

  7. I don’t like to watch shows with children. Especially children with no concept of grammar. It makes me nervous because those children are going to be our home health care aides when we get old and need diaper changes. I don’t like to think about that at all.

    I am intrigued by this Bon Qui Qui thing. If I am annoyed at work, can I call security? I wasn’t aware this was an option.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 878 other followers

