Just eat the cupcakes

There is a person in the office who has a doctor’s appointment today. They are worried that the doctor may be upset at them because they ate two chocolate cupcakes yesterday. Someone asked this person if they were going to confess to the doctor about consumption of the cupcakes. Confess… really?

This entire conversation astounds me. I am going to email my doctor right this minute to inform him of the fact that last night I had two glasses of wine and an obscenely large bowl of spaghetti. Then, I will scoff openly at triglycerides. Then, I will tell him that if there were two cupcakes in front of me, that I would eat those cupcakes RIGHT NOW. I hope this doesn’t make him cry. Maybe I shouldn’t email my doctor and make him cry so early in the morning. I feel bad about it now. Perhaps I should compose the email and sent it later on.

Anyone have a doctor’s appointment today? Here is your t-shirt.

About lgalaviz
All of this hardly seems necessary.

15 Responses to Just eat the cupcakes

  1. This makes me angry. Unless you’ve got a condition like diabetes or something, why worry about a cupcake or two?

    Ok fine, if you live on cupcakes and nothing else your doctor has all rights to be upset, but otherwise.. Well, you’ve said it already on the title: just eat the damn cupcakes!

  2. Rich Crete says:

    I went to the Dr. yesterday. I told him I wasn’t wearing clean underwear. Confessing to your Dr. is cathartic. Well, I mean it was for me….he looked a bit concerned.

    • lgalaviz says:

      That is hilarious that your doctor was concerned about your underwear. My doctor seems to be only concerned with stuff like blood pressure and cholesterol levels. This is probably because I have not brought up the subject of underwear.

  3. Roxie says:

    I tell all my doctors that I eat nothing but whole sticks of butter. Never had one cry, yet.

  4. I don’t tell my doctor anything. It’s none of his business unless I’m dying. Or bleeding copiously from the eyes and mouth-area. He’s very good at disappointed-face. I hate that face.

    • lgalaviz says:

      I don’t succeed very much at the doctor’s office. My blood pressure is always high and I get the accusatory face. I keep trying to do better, but it doesn’t work. I’m a major fail at the doctor.

  5. Gigi says:

    If you already ate the cupcakes what is the point in confessing? It’s not like he can take them back.

  6. MsDarkstar says:

    I had a great doctor for a while who would ask if there was anything new going on and then say “you have already heard all the lectures, so I’m not going to bore both of us” and leave it at that. She DID insist on a hepatitis test when she saw my tattoo, but other than that, since I had no health issues, she spared me the lectures that she could have given me and I was grateful for it. I HATE going to the doctor and knowing I am going to get lectured (for things I likely won’t change) makes me just not want to go at all.

    Of course, I’ve not had health insurance in well over a decade, so I consider myself fortunate to not have any issues that require checking/maintenance.

    If you’re gobbling up a dozen cupcakes a day, you might have an issue. If, one day you happen to eat two cupcakes, y’all should just be grateful for having had the opportunity to eat two delicious cupcakes. (My opinion, your mileage may vary)

    • lgalaviz says:

      Every time I go to the doctor, they find something wrong with me. And… I feel FINE.

      Even when I don’t feel fine, they never focus on the topic at hand. If I come in for a sore throat, don’t weigh me and take my blood pressure. That has NOTHING to do with a sore throat. NOTHING.

      I’m upset now. I’m going to go have cupcakes.

      • Rich Crete says:

        Spot on Lisa. True story….20 years ago I broke my arm and the Dr. was all “What shall we do about about your smoking?” (Yes, I quit 17 years ago so nobody start)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 877 other followers

